top of page
Search
  • Jacob Davis

Day 25 - Text

Updated: Jun 5, 2020


So for day 25 the word was "Text", and for this I really needed inspiration so I took to the internet, where I was inspired by some rather mundane things such as fridge magnet letters and jumbled up magazine cut outs like with what you might do for secret Santa. Although very odd, they gave me the idea to mix up letters in a random pattern all together and photograph them that way. Now for this I could have spent hours cutting out newspaper letters or something like that, but after a short think I thought that there would be no better way to follow the theme of what inspired me than to use something mundane myself, like Scrabble letters.


So I decided to take the bag of letters out from Scrabble and pour them all over the board. All I had to do was flip everything the right way up and space them out a bit to achieve my desired effect. I will admit that I don't think they came out as good as I'd hoped because the mossy green of the board and letters is not very aesthetically pleasing, but on this occasion, I think it's less about perfection and more about the idea: the shear normality of what I photographed, and I think the colour quality reflects that.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page