top of page
Search
  • Jacob Davis

Day 22 - Reflection

Updated: May 29, 2020


For day 22 the word was "Reflection"; so I first set about thinking about what I could find that was particularly reflective. Of course, there are two main things in this category: mirrors and water. So I thought I might try to combine them.


Initially, my idea was to find a mirror with a rim deep enough to hold in a thin layer of water. my intention would then have been to tap the water to give it a ripple effect, and then photograph the sky with that ripple effect. Unfortunately, I couldn't find a mirror with a deep enough rim to hold in the amount of water needed for a ripple.


However, when I poured the water out, it left droplets on the mirror that I thought might provide an interesting effect. As it turned out, the droplets didn't just give the photos another layer of design, but they also provided my camera with another focus point, allowing me to focus on them rather than the reflection, and in so doing blur the reflection slightly.


After taking my photos in such a way as to show off that a mirror was being used, I edited my images with a full, white vignette to give them a sort of purity and holiness that I tend to associate with both clear water and clear reflections.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page