top of page
Search
  • Jacob Davis

Day 21 - Shadow

Updated: May 29, 2020


Reference Images:


For the end of the 3rd week, the word was "Shadow". For this, I decided to leave my shoot until later that night so I could achieve the most vivid shadow possible. For this shoot, I decided to use various glasses to create an arrangement of different shadows in the back of my shots. This was in part inspired by some images I found when searching the internet, in which clear glasses were used to cast a shadow that was naturally divided into 'slices', caused by both the translucency and curvature of the glasses (such as in the reference images above).


This imagery caused me to use glasses of my own in order to experiment with the resulting shadows. I also decided to use candle light for my shoot, both due to the softness of the light and the warmth that both added to the idea by making a much easier visual to consume. In my experimentation, I also found that the arrangement of the glasses together resulted in a very interesting, futuristic city skyline aesthetic.


Finally, I enhanced my images with a vignette, as all good things should be, and softened the edges of the shadows slightly by decreasing the clarity.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page