top of page
Search
  • Jacob Davis

Day 19 - Natural Forms

Updated: May 29, 2020


Reference Images:

So for day 19 the word phrase was "Natural Forms", which immediately made me think of the grain patterns found in tree trunks (such as the reference images above). To me, the pattern in a tree trunk is the most recognisable natural form there is, given how fascinating and satisfying the concentric pattern is. So whilst I don't have any sizeable tree stumps in my area that feature such patterns, I do have a number of small stumps in my garden that allowed me to capture a similar idea with the broken and splintered texture of the stumps replacing the grain pattern.


I particularly like how the stumps have accumulated a lot of dirt over time, giving them a subtle yet influential grainy appearance that heightens the over all aesthetic of a close-up by improving the detail and depth.


As per usual, I also applied some very minor edits to the images, such as slightly upping the saturation to compensate for the very dull effect of the natural lighting.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page