top of page
Search
  • Jacob Davis

Day 18 - Depth of Field

Updated: May 29, 2020


Now day 18 and the theme of composition was rounded off with the term "Depth of Field". Unlike the previous two terms, I find Depth of Field to be a more easily visualised concept as it is its own focal point, rather than being a means to a focal point like "Leading Lines". Therefore, I simply looked for something that would benefit from a higher degree of singular focus.


With that line of thinking, I came to a patch of grass in my garden that had a very specific and detailed plant amongst it. As I came to find out, this plant had accumulated many spider webs and cat hairs that, although slightly odd, could add to the definition of the depth of field by more vividly capturing the difference in focus and detail of the back and foreground plants.


In editing, I also thought my images would benefit from a subtle, white vignette (something I have been making use of a lot lately). I also increased the saturation slightly to bring out the colour of the plant; this tweak also had a knock-on effect of giving the images a pinkish glow which I like very much.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page