top of page
Search
  • Jacob Davis

Day 17 - Leading Lines

Updated: May 29, 2020


With day 17 came the compositional term "Leading Lines". Much like my take on the Rule of Thirds, I decided to focus more on the edits. For this, I thought I would accentuate the 'line' of Leading Lines by reverting the backdrop of what I would photograph to black and white and filling in the line with colour.

I also had a look at Pinterest for some reference and inspiration. In doing so, I saw that almost all of the images I found were flat lines, meaning they were either looking through or along a ground level surface. Unfortunately I didn't have anyway long or clear enough to achieve this effect in my area.


So what I decided to photograph in the end was the street lights on my road that I could easily photograph facing the sky to remove any background interruptions that might occur at ground level. This simple framing of two elements: the line and the sky; also helped tremendously to focus in on the Leading Line of each photo and better capture the concept on its own rather than focusing too much on what surrounds the line or what it leads to.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page