top of page
Search
  • Jacob Davis

Word 4 - Rough

Updated: Sep 16, 2020

For rough texture, I focused on things with lots of detail, things that looked like they were breaking, cracking and crumbling. I found a lot of what I was looking for around the garden shed, which was surrounded by gravel and rocks, as well as being old and damaged itself.


I particularly like the last image, as it shows a very dark, jagged surface, but also fixes what might have been too plain a surface by having the single white stone in the centre, displacing the single grey-black image with a contrast in shade. I also like the first image of the 3rd row for similar reasons, that being that the circular formation in the centre of the image gives it a focal point, but also adds to the texture as all other lines move around it in a sort of pattern, adding an element of shape to the texture.


However, I would say that as a general flaw in all of the images, they are too dark; This is somewhat due to the weather on the day, but I also think that the predominantly low down shots meant that the camera lens was not getting much light. In addition, I would say that the images on the 6th and 7th row feel too flat and plain, as a result of the lighting, you can't get a good sense of the texture there, only a vague idea of jagged edges on rock.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page