top of page
Search
  • Jacob Davis

Personal Project Introduction

Updated: Mar 15, 2021

So for my personal project, I decided to look back at the 30 days of May project for some inspiration. Of all my shoots for that project, I think my favourite and most well finished was the "Texture" shoot, so I decided to dedicate my mind map to different textures and all the different sources of texture I could think of. I also thought it best to write my mind map by hand because doing so allows your thoughts to flow and come out more freely and naturally, thus giving you a better picture of what that origin word really conjures for you.


My plan for this project is to think about what different textures can show and what they can mean, as well as visualise and share what lies beneath the structures and shapes that we take for granted in the world around us. This is to say that in my previous experience of macro-photography, I've found that everything, including the most simple and mundane of objects and structures, can produce some of the most interesting and diverse visuals and shapes.

And below is my mood board, which follows the same format as my mind map but replaces the words with images to better visualise what my intentions are for this project and what sort of images I hope to create.

For my first shoot of the project, I intend to focus on capturing just some of the textures relating to the four keywords that I have picked out in my mind map and mood board: Natural, Man-Made, Soft, and Rough. Hopefully, I can gain some further inspiration from this shoot on where I might take this broad idea of 'texture' and how I might narrow my focal point for the next shoot.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page